'Gakyil', often referred as the 'wheel of joy' or 'the wheel of bliss' in Buddhist terminology.
In this depiction you can see the wheel of bliss on the center comprised of three colours, red yellow and blue. These are generally symbolic of joy delight and pleasure.
Working outwards towards the blue triangle, the bliss wheel is centered in the three seed syllables 'Om', 'Ah', Hung'.
According to Sutras these translate to Body, Voice, Mind.
Reaching the outta circle painted in 22 crt gold are the 6 syllables of Samantabhadra. These represent what is often referred to as the '6 lokas', or can also be interpreted as, 'the many different types of beings that exist'.
As His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama says, 'For every atom that exists with in the universe, so to do sentient beings'.


Painting completed 2015
Painted by Damien Pascoe
Acrylic on canvas, 43cm x 43cm, Private collection
Image maybe subject to copyright.
For use of Imagery Please contact artist



Previous           Next

Contemporary Tibetan Art Gallery

Copyrighted Image